Research Guides: Faculty Resources: Resources (Books, Journals, Web)

Journals for Professional Development, Research

Chronicle of Higher Education News and trends, legislation, meetings, seminars, workshops, classified employment advertising for higher education administrators, faculty members, researchers & scholars.
College Teaching Interdisciplinary articles on issues related to teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels; teaching philosophy and practices, teachers' roles, professional development and evaluation, incentives and commentary on articles in the journal.
Community College Review A refereed, scholarly journal of original articles on both the theoretical and practical aspects of community college education in the areas of administration and management, changing technology, instruction, programming and curriculum and student needs.
Higher Education Pedagogies An open-access, peer-reviewed journal publishing across a wide range of teaching and learning methods within higher education.
Innovations in Education & Teaching International Focuses on educational & training technology as well as staff & educational development.
Innovative Higher Education A refereed scholarly journal of articles presenting descriptions and evaluations of current innovations in higher education that strike a balance between practice and theory.
International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning International forum for research and information about the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) and its applications in higher/tertiary education.
The International Journal of Critical Pedagogy Articles that propose innovative understandings and applications of critical pedagogy.
Journal of Effective Teaching in Higher Education An open access electronic peer-reviewed journal that advances the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) focused on institutions of higher education.
Journal of Higher Education Published in affiliation with the American Association for Higher Education. Articles, review essays and book reviews dealing with all aspects of higher education.
Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning A forum for the dissemination of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in higher education for the community of teacher-scholars.
Teaching in Higher Education Addresses the roles of teaching, learning and the curriculum in higher education in order to explore and clarify the intellectual challenges which they present.

Databases for Scholarly/Academic Sources

ACLS Humanities E-Books
Explore this large collection of scholarly e-books in the humanities. The collection covers a broad range of subjects including History, Art, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Film & Media Studies, LGBT/Queer Studies, and more. ACLS

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Current
Find research articles from nursing and allied health journals. Contents also include evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and quick lessons on many diseases and conditions.
Subscription EBSCO
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
1941 –
Find e-books and read them online or download them to your iOS or Android device. This online library contains a specialized science and technology collection and Spanish-language books in all academic subjects. Search by subject or by keyword.
TexShare ProQuest
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
1990 -
Find electronic books with their full text online. Browse by topic or search by key word. Some titles can be downloaded to your desktop, eReader, or mobile device.
TexShare EBSCO

JSTOR Essential Collection
Over 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts & sciences. View online, download, share, and recommend articles on social media, Includes the JSTOR Understanding Series, showcasing prominent literary works with integrated, line-by–line, multi-linked articles of scholarly research. ITHAKA

Media Resources: Library Databases

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
View documentaries, education and training films, and popular theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Bookmark, link, embed and share full videos as well as custom clips and playlists. All videos are fully ADA compliant.
NOTE: Kanopy Account required for access.
Subscription Kanopy
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Historical - Current
Watch documentaries, newsreels, and archival footage of key events in American history. Follow or search synchronized transcripts for each video. Bookmark, link, embed, and share entire videos or custom clips that you create yourself.
Subscription Alexander Street
American History This link opens in a new window
Learn about American History from ancient indigenous civilizations to the nation’s founding and up to the present with this comprehensive reference collection. Developed and curated by experts, this database includes articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos and more.
Infobase
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
In partnership with Britain's leading theatre companies to capture live performances onscreen, Digital Theatre provides the drama and emotion of each production to a global online audience. Includes 1,200+ curriculum-linked resources including backstage insights, practitioner interviews, written analysis and 450+ productions.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Historical -
Find a comprehensive collection of classical music, world music, jazz, folk music, and pop/rock. Search by composer, work, genre and label. Text resources include a glossary, histories, & librettos. Listeners can create a personalized playlist.
Subscription Naxos Digital. Also available as an App for IOS and Android devcies. Use dcccd15STL for access code.

Media Resources: Dallas College (SharePoint login required)

MediaHub
Cloud-based video system that facilitates the creation and sharing of media content for teaching and learning.
Open Educational Resources (OER)
Educational materials that are either available in the public domain or that have been made available through open licenses granting permission to freely retain, reuse, revise, remix and redistribute.
Adobe Creative Cloud for Home Use

Media Resources: Web Sites

Vimeo
1. Type in search term and click FIND
2. Click on More Filters (left side navigation)
3. Choose CC license (For example: CC0)
YouTube
1. Type in search term and hit enter
2. Click on FILTER
3. Under FEATURES select Creative Commons
Google Video
Type search word plus the word creative commons. Example: swan creative commons

Dallas Morning News: For the Classroom

Dallas College librarians and instructors are eligible for the Newspapers in Education version of the Dallas Morning News. This is an e-print version of the full newspaper that is only to be used in an educational setting.

Instructors and librarians may sign up for a classroom account. During the signup process, you will be asked to create a username and password that all of the students will use. You will have to give the number of students in the class so that a license is available when multiple students are using it at the same time (say, during a classroom exercise).
The account is only good for the academic year. It does get cut off during the summer, and you will have to re-register for the next academic year.
Instructors should create their own accounts and use it for multiple classes. (Factor in total students when creating an account.)
An alternate database to use for Dallas Morning News articles is Points of View. It includes full-text versions of most DMN-created articles (no graphics, no syndication).

Registration Information

Points of View This link opens in a new window
Current
Find current controversial topics, each with an overview, point (argument), counterpoint (Opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Contains full-text academic journal, newspaper and magazine articles, primary source documents, images and videos.
Subscription EBSCO

Copyright Information

Library Databases

Using Library Databases

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches, on the other hand, provide lots of results and can be difficult to determine which websites are reliable and provide accurate information appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In to Databases

If you are not on campus, you will need to sign in to access library databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use to access eCampus (Dallas College email address and eCampus/eConnect password).

Signing In to Library Resources Guide

Books at Other Libraries

WorldCat

If you'd like to search for items at other libraries, WorldCat can help. WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. Click on the link below to search using WorldCat. TexShare card users can search local libraries for items using WorldCat. To request an item via Interlibrary Loan, click on the other link in this box.

WorldCat

Interlibrary Loan

Books, periodical articles, and other items not available at Dallas College can be requested via interlibrary loan. Click on the link below for more information and to make a request. NOTE: Textbooks are not available through the interlibrary loan program.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Other Databases & Resources

The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.

Faculty Resources

Library Catalog