Research Guides: Sociology: Books (Catalog)

Finding Books in the Library

Searching for print books or eBooks in the Library Catalog

To find print books or eBooks in the Library Catalog, follow these steps:

1. Type your search in the Library Catalog search box above. The results will open in a new window.

If you need help with searching for your topic, use the Suggested Catalog Searches on the right-hand side of this page.

2. Then, refine your results on the left-hand side of the page.

To find print books, refine your results to Show Only: Available in the Library, Resource Type: Books, and Library: Select your Campus.
To find eBooks, refine your results to Show Only: Full Text Online and Resource Type: Books.

Finding print books on the shelf

At each campus, books are organized using the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. To find a book on the shelf, you will need some information from the Library Catalog. Under the title of the book in the catalog, you will see the Campus, Section, and Call Number.

For example, this information may be listed as Available at Brookhaven Campus (Brookhaven is the Campus where this book is located) Main Collection (main collection is the section where this book is located in library) GN 316 .K64 2002 (the call number tells where this book is shelved in the library).

If you want to browse our print collection in the library, here are some common LC classifications for those studying Sociology:

HM Sociology (General)

HN Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.

HQ The family. Marriage. Women

HS Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.

HT Communities. Classes. Races.

HV Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology

Need help finding a book in the library? Ask a Librarian.

Books at Other Libraries

WorldCat

If you'd like to search for items at other libraries, WorldCat can help. WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. Click on the link below to search using WorldCat. TexShare card users can search local libraries for items using WorldCat. To request an item via Interlibrary Loan, click on the other link in this box.

WorldCat

Interlibrary Loan

Books, periodical articles, and other items not available at Dallas College can be requested via interlibrary loan. Click on the link below for more information and to make a request. NOTE: Textbooks are not available through the interlibrary loan program.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Suggested eBooks

Introduction to Sociological Theory by Michele Dillon
ISBN: 9781118471920
Publication Date: 2019-09-16
The extensively revised and updated second edition combines carefully chosen primary quotes with wide-ranging discussion and everyday illustrative examples to provide an in-depth introduction to classical and contemporary sociological theory.
Evolutionary Criminology by Russil Durrant; Tony Ward
ISBN: 9780123984937
Publication Date: 2015-03-12
In our attempts to understand crime, researchers typically focus on proximate factors such as the psychology of offenders, their developmental history, and the social structure in which they are embedded. While these factors are important, they don't tell the whole story. This book explores how evolutionary biology adds to our understanding of why crime is committed, by whom, and our response to norm violations.
Surviving Poverty by Joan Maya Mazelis
ISBN: 9781479886913
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Surviving Poverty carefully examines the experiences of people living below the poverty level, looking in particular at the tension between social isolation and social ties among the poor. Joan Maya Mazelis draws on in-depth interviews with poor people in Philadelphia to explore how they survive and the benefits they gain by being connected to one another.
How Population Change Will Transform Our World by Sarah Harper
ISBN: 9780198784098
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
Predicting the shape of our future populations is vital for installing the infrastructure, welfare, and provisions necessary for society to survive. Harper works to dispel myths such as the fear of unstoppable global growth resulting in a population explosion, or that climate change will lead to the mass movement of environmental refugees; and instead considers the future shape of our populations in light of demographic trends in fertility, mortality, and migration.
The American Soul Rush by Marion Goldman
ISBN: 9780814733387
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Esalen Institute, a retreat for spiritual and personal growth in Big Sur, California, played a pioneering role in popularizing quests for self-transformation and personalized spirituality. This "soul rush" spread quickly throughout the United States as the Institute made ordinary people aware of hundreds of ways to select, combine, and revise their beliefs about the sacred and to explore diverse mystical experiences.

eBook Collections

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Consult e-books on countries, cultures, and history, especially the history of African Americans. ABC-CLIO
ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
Explore this large collection of scholarly e-books in the humanities. The collection covers a broad range of subjects including History, Art, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Film & Media Studies, LGBT/Queer Studies, and more.
ACLS
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Find e-books and read them online or download them to your iOS or Android device. This online library contains a specialized science and technology collection and Spanish-language books in all academic subjects. Search by subject or by keyword. ProQuest
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Find electronic books with their full text online. Browse by topic or search by key word. Some titles can be downloaded to your desktop, eReader, or mobile device. EBSCO
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Begin your research with reliable overviews from authoritative subject encyclopedias. Dependable information, citable sources. Gale

Course Reserves

Textbooks and other class materials are placed on reserve by instructors. These items can't leave the library, but you can check them out to use within the library. Course reserves can be found using the library catalog, linked below. You can also speak to the library staff to determine if a book is available at your campus.

Library Catalog

Sociology

Library Catalog