Research Guides: Fashion: Articles (Databases)

Library Databases

Using Library Databases

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches, on the other hand, provide lots of results and can be difficult to determine which websites are reliable and provide accurate information appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In to Databases

If you are not on campus, you will need to sign in to access library databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use to access eCampus (Dallas College email address and eCampus/eConnect password).

Signing In to Library Resources Guide

Databases for Fashion Research

Gale Business Insights Global
Recommended database -- Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news (including New York Times and Wall Street Journal), statistical data, and comprehensive reports, including SWOT analyses.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles, as well as book chapters, and images, in all areas of art and architecture. The database includes periodicals published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch.
Subscription EBSCO
Business Entrepreneurship
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.
Subscription Gale
eLibrary Curriculum This link opens in a new window
Current
Find articles on all subjects from magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books, as well as images, maps, audio and video clips, TV and radio news transcripts, and educator-approved websites. Special modules for history and literature. All reading levels.
Subscription ProQuest
Flipster This link opens in a new window
The Flipster newsstand is a digital magazine platform accessible to District students via computer, tablet or smartphone.
Subscription EBSCO
THE FLIPSTER SUBSCRIPTION EXPIRES DECEMBER 31, 2024 AND WILL NOT BE RENEWED.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Find articles, images and other information about drama, music, art history and film-making. Articles are from scholarly and popular resources and include reviews.
TexShare Gale
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Current
Find answers to questions about art in this comprehensive encyclopedia. Entries cover Western and non-Western art from all periods. Written by experts, they include images and bibliographies for additional sources of information.
Subscription Oxford Univ. Press
Statista This link opens in a new window
2008 – Current
Need statistics for a project or presentation? Here you can find facts, numbers, analyses, and forecasts from government, foundations, news organizations, and business. You can export the data to Excel or create graphics for PowerPoint.
Subscription Statista

Dallas Morning News (via Points of View Reference Center)

General Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Best for academic research. Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering a broad range of topics. A good place to look when you’re not sure where to start.
Subscription Gale
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
TexShare Gale
JSTOR Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts & sciences. View online, download, share, and recommend articles on social media, Includes the JSTOR Understanding Series, showcasing prominent literary works with integrated, line-by–line, multi-linked articles of scholarly research!
(NEW Special Expanded Access through June 30th)
Subscription ITHAKA.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Varies
Find articles in peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals available free on the Web. Covers a wide variety of subjects in many languages.
Free Lund Univ. Libraries

Streaming Databases

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
View documentaries, education and training films, and popular theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Bookmark, link, embed and share full videos as well as custom clips and playlists. All videos are fully ADA compliant. Kanopy
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, economics, science, history, music, and more. Follow or search synchronized transcripts for each video. Bookmark, link, embed, and share entire videos or custom clips that you create yourself.
Subscription TexShare Alexander Street
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Historical - Current
Watch documentaries, newsreels, and archival footage of key events in American history. Follow or search synchronized transcripts for each video. Bookmark, link, embed, and share entire videos or custom clips that you create yourself.
Subscription Alexander Street

Other Databases & Resources

The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.

Looking for a Particular Magazine or Journal?

Use Online Journal List to find specific magazines & journals in our databases.