Research Guides: English/Composition: Articles (Databases)

Library Databases

Using Library Databases

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches, on the other hand, provide lots of results and can be difficult to determine which websites are reliable and provide accurate information appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In to Databases

If you are not on campus, you will need to sign in to access library databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use to access eCampus (Dallas College email address and eCampus/eConnect password).

Signing In to Library Resources Guide

English/Composition Databases

JSTOR Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts & sciences. View online, download, share, and recommend articles on social media, Includes the JSTOR Understanding Series, showcasing prominent literary works with integrated, line-by–line, multi-linked articles of scholarly research. ITHAKA
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find literary criticism, scholarly articles, author biographies, plot and topic summaries, and much more. Covers authors from all genres, time periods, and areas of the world.
TEXSHARE GALE
eLibrary Curriculum This link opens in a new window
Current
Find articles on all subjects from magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books, as well as images, maps, audio and video clips, TV and radio news transcripts, and educator-approved websites. Special modules for history and literature. All reading levels.
Subscription ProQuest

Literature and Criticism Databases

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Learn about the study of literature with this comprehensive collection of materials. Curated and presented by Yale professor and influential critic, Harold Bloom, this database includes scholarly books, peer-reviewed journals and full-length videos of classic plays. Infobase
Reference Shelf Series (Salem Press) This link opens in a new window
Access to print editions of the The Reference Shelf series.

Current Issue Databases

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find a variety of perspectives on current event issues and controversies in the news, providing facts as well as pros and cons. Includes e-books, magazine articles, newspaper articles, multimedia, charts, graphs, and images. Gale
txshracd2500
Points of View This link opens in a new window
Find current controversial topics, each with an overview, point (argument), counterpoint (Opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Contains full-text academic journal, newspaper and magazine articles, primary source documents, images and videos. EBSCO
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find newspaper and magazine articles on current events and social issues. SIRS provides overviews with images, maps, statistics, and opposing viewpoints. ProQuest
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
1991 -
Find objective, fact-based analysis of important national and international issues. Each weekly report focuses on a single issue, providing historical background, timelines, pro/con debate, and resources for further research.
Subscription Congressional Quart.

Streaming Databases

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
View documentaries, education and training films, and popular theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Bookmark, link, embed and share full videos as well as custom clips and playlists. All videos are fully ADA compliant. Kanopy
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, economics, science, history, music, and more. Follow or search synchronized transcripts for each video. Bookmark, link, embed, and share entire videos or custom clips that you create yourself.
Subscription TexShare Alexander Street
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Historical - Current
Watch documentaries, newsreels, and archival footage of key events in American history. Follow or search synchronized transcripts for each video. Bookmark, link, embed, and share entire videos or custom clips that you create yourself.
Subscription Alexander Street

General Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Best for academic research. Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering a broad range of topics. A good place to look when you’re not sure where to start.
Subscription Gale
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
TexShare Gale
JSTOR Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts & sciences. View online, download, share, and recommend articles on social media, Includes the JSTOR Understanding Series, showcasing prominent literary works with integrated, line-by–line, multi-linked articles of scholarly research!
(NEW Special Expanded Access through June 30th)
Subscription ITHAKA.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Varies
Find articles in peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals available free on the Web. Covers a wide variety of subjects in many languages.
Free Lund Univ. Libraries

Other Databases & Resources

The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.