Accounting Resources
360 Degrees of Financial Literacy
360 Degrees of Financial literacy is a national volunteer effort of the nation’s Certified Public Accountants to help Americans understand their personal finances and develop money management skills.
Accounting.com
Accounting Simplified. Your source for accounting career information, continuing education and job listings.
AccountingCoach.com
Free quizzes, download-ready study guides, question and answer area, and accounting dictionary. Developed by a University of Wisconsin-Whitewater professor and Certified Public Accountant.
Accounting Coach Blog
A series of tutorials on accounting
Accounting Terminology
A long list of accounting terminology definitions
Accounting Today Magazine
"Tools and resources for the electronic accountant." This website features free, full-text articles of Accounting Today, Accounting Technology, and Practical Accountant. It also has a newswire, news from Washington, and industry rankings.
AuditNet
A useful resource for auditors, accountants, and financial professionals with the heart of the site an annotated directory of important Internet sites. There's also an inventory of free audit programs, a directory of fraud resources, sample ethics policies, and more.
CPAnet
Online community and content for accounting professionals
CPA Technology Blog
Highlights the latest news and trends in accounting and financial technology.
GAO: Accountability, Integrity, Reliability
Best known as "the investigative arm of Congress" and "the congressional watchdog," GAO supports Congress by examining the use of public funds, evaluating federal programs and activities, and providing analyses, options, and recommendations.
Tax History Project
Information on the history of U.S. public finance
Business Websites
Bloomberg Businessweek
Connects decision makers in business, finance and government to a broad and dynamic network of information, news, people and ideas
Economist
Analysis of world business and current affairs that includes overviews of cultural trends and regular industry, business and country reports
Financial Times
Provides essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community
Forbes
Original reporting on business, technology, investing and lifestyle, as well as stock and mutual fund quotes, company profiles and more
Thomas Register of Manufacturers
Online catalog of product and service headings, companies, trademark and brand names and CAD drawings
Jobs and Career Websites
CareerOneStop
Features a Job Description Writer that will help you build a meaningful job description
Careers in Accounting
A commercial site by Accounting.com with information about the profession and position openings.
Dictionary of Occupational Titles
This is the complete Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) revised fourth edition, as supplied electronically by the US Dept. of Labor, provided, as a public service, by ITA, makers of DOT and O*Net for Windows.
IMA Statement of Ethical Professional Practice
The Institute of Management Accountants provides a "Statement of Ethical Professional Practice."
O*NET OnLine
Job Profiles, Salary Information, Required Education/Training and more
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Features job summary, entry level education and median pay for occupations within the United States
The Uniform CPA Exam
Certification exams to become Certified Public Accountants are discussed; a tutorial and sample questions are provided.
Accounting Standards
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
A searchable database of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) codes
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
This board sets standards for all types of accounting in the for-profit sector. Includes recent FASB Pronouncements under the Projects tab with the full text of interpretations relevant to accounting standards.
Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB)
This board sets standards for all types of governmental accounting. Summaries and Status of all GASB Statements and Interpretations are available from the Technical Issues link.
IFRS Adoption by Country
PWC provides a world map and a .pdf file with detailed information concerning the extent to which each country has adopted or intends to adopt the international standards.
IFRS Foundation / International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
The IASB fosters the convergence of national standards with international accounting standards. While the US has not fully adopted these standards, the SEC announced in August 2008 a roadmap that may lead to their use by 2014.
National Association of State Boards of Accountancy
This Web site is of value to accountants interested in certification in multiple states.
SEC Staff Accounting Bulletin (SAB): Codification
A summarization of the SEC’s views regarding accounting-related disclosure practices, a Staff Accounting Bulletin (SAB) represents interpretations and policies followed by the SEC when reviewing the filings of publicly-held companies. While the information in an SAB does not apply to privately-held organizations, entities registering their securities within the United States closely adhere to them.
Texas State Board of Public Accountancy
The TSBPA licenses accountants and accounting practice units doing business in Texas.
Use of IFRSs by Jurisdiction
Deloitte has compiled a chart that shows the amount of adoption of the International Financial Reporting Standards by country.
Professional Association Websites
Accounting and Financial Women's Alliance
The mission of the Accounting & Financial Women’s Alliance is to enable women in all accounting and finance fields to achieve their full potential and to contribute to their profession.
AICPA
The web site of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants includes career information, fraud studies and deterrence measures, audit standards, professional ethics, information and links about the certified public accountant (CPA).
American Accounting Association
Promotes worldwide excellence in accounting education, research and practice. Founded in 1916 as the American Association of University Instructors in Accounting, its present name was adopted in 1936.
Association of Government Accountants
The AGA provides a code of ethics, continuing education, and conferences for government accountants. Useful reports and links to Web sites are available.
The Association of Practicing Certified Public Accountants
Provides a forum for continuing professional education, and acts as a voice in accounting and tax matters as well as allowing members to network.
Institute of Internal Auditors
Established in 1941, the IIA serves more than 60,000 members in internal auditing, governance and internal control, IT audit, education, and security from more than 100 countries.
Institute of Management Accounts
An association of accountants and financial professionals in business
National Association of State Boards of Accountancy
This Web site is of value to accountants interested in certification in multiple states.
National Society of Accountants
This is a non-profit organization of professionals who provide accounting, tax preparation, financial and estate planning, and management advisory services to an estimated 4 million individuals and business clients.
