At Dallas College, we're committed to supporting your academic journey and personal growth. Here are some resources available to help you thrive:
Where: Learning Commons
Contact Us for Questions:
Study Jam Workshops by Campus
Feeling the pressure of finals creeping up? Say no more! Drop by the Learning Commons for Study Jam!
All workshops will be in-person. Please select the tab for your campus in the schedule below to browse workshops and their descriptions.
Presented by Calvin Araracap – Tutoring Specialist
Designed to equip you with strategies and support to conquer exam stress. This workshop offers a nurturing environment where you can explore techniques to manage anxiety and boost your confidence in test-taking situations.
Presented by Laura Guzman – Librarian
Explore the library's resources and services! Learn about tutoring, computer labs, study spaces, device lending programs, and how to navigate the catalog and find resources on databases like Academic OneFile, JSTOR, and Opposing Viewpoints.
Presented by Olga Murr – Librarian
Explore the library's resources and services! Learn about tutoring, computer labs, study spaces, device lending programs, and how to navigate the catalog and find resources on databases like Academic OneFile, JSTOR, and Opposing Viewpoints.
Presented by Calvin Araracap – Tutoring Specialist
Designed to equip you with strategies and support to conquer exam stress. This workshop offers a nurturing environment where you can explore techniques to manage anxiety and boost your confidence in test-taking situations.
Presented by Huey Stevens – Academic Coach
Math Study resources and Test Taking Tips will explore online, cellphone and printed resources to assist with studying for math exams.
Located at Room S-0003
Presented by the Learning Commons and Office of Student Life and Engagement
We know studying for finals can be stressful. Take a study break and release some stress by joining our Jeopardy session! Categories include Math and Writing. We will also have a piñata filled with goodies!
Presented by Mario Montez – Career and Transfer Skills Development Specialist
Join Career and Transfer Skills Development and learn about our online job platform Handshake. Looking for a summer job, maybe summer internship or ready to dive into applying for your career post Dallas college? This session will walk you through using Dallas Colleges unique job platform that will help you connect with employers that are ready to hire YOU!
Presented by Koudzo Toussah – Adjunct Faculty, Math
Learn about the appropriate steps in factoring equations, identifying the greatest common factor, the difference of squares, and more.
Presented by Virginia Clark – Support Specialist
Explore the library's resources and services! Learn about tutoring, computer labs, study spaces, device lending programs, and how to navigate the catalog and find resources on databases like Academic OneFile, JSTOR, and Opposing Viewpoints.
Presented by Nickie Ray – Tutoring Specialist; Adjunct Faculty, Math
Practical strategies for necessary life skills in college. Whether it be how to email a professor, tips for managing daily stress, or how to connect with resources that promote academic success and well-being. You receive tools to help you navigate the path to becoming a more successful adult college student.
Presented by Jared Newman – Librarian
Explore the library's resources and services! Learn about tutoring, computer labs, study spaces, device lending programs, and how to navigate the catalog and find resources on databases like Academic OneFile, JSTOR, and Opposing Viewpoints.
Presented by Martin Velasquez – Academic Coach
Is Math a concept that seems foreign to you? Learn some short cuts and practical ways to study math.
Located at Room D100
Presented by the Learning Commons and Office of Student Life and Engagement
We know studying for finals can be stressful. Take a study break and release some stress by joining our Jeopardy session! Categories include Math and Writing. We will also have a piñata filled with goodies!
Presented by Johnathan Moss – Career and Transfer Skills Development Specialist
Join Career and Transfer Skills Development and learn about our online job platform Handshake. Looking for a summer job, maybe summer internship or ready to dive into applying for your career post Dallas college? This session will walk you through using Dallas Colleges unique job platform that will help you connect with employers that are ready to hire YOU!
Presented by Zeinab Rahmanabadi – Faculty, Math
Need additional preparation for your Pre-Calculus final? Join Professor Rahmanabadi for a study jam review session!
Presented by Mary Myers – Librarian
Learn how to use the Opposing Viewpoints database. Find a variety of perspectives on current events, cultural issues, and controversies in the news, providing facts as well as pros and cons. Includes e-books, magazine and academic journal articles, newspaper articles, multimedia, charts, graphs, and images.
Presented by Paolo Enero – Academic Coach
Learn how to convert units using the metric system, English system, and expand to dimensional analysis! Dimensional analysis is useful for Biology, Chemistry, and even nursing!
Presented by Lindsey Bartlett – Librarian
Learning Express is a library database filled with tutorials, study guides, and practice tests to help you improve your skills or prepare for an occupational or entrance exam. In this session, you’ll learn how to set up your free account, find what you need, and save and track your progress.
Presented by Leo Logan – Tutoring Specialist
How do you use this thing? Learn how the TI-84 calculator for Statistics, Trigonometry, Algebra, Compounding Interest, or Graphing.
Located at Hive 100
Presented by the Learning Commons and Office of Student Life and Engagement
We know studying for finals can be stressful. Take a study break and release some stress by joining our Jeopardy session! Categories include Math and Writing. We will also have a piñata filled with goodies!
Presented by Shelly Garcia – Career and Transfer Skills Development Specialist
Join Career and Transfer Skills Development and learn about our online job platform Handshake. Looking for a summer job, maybe summer internship or ready to dive into applying for your career post Dallas college? This session will walk you through using Dallas Colleges unique job platform that will help you connect with employers that are ready to hire YOU!
Presented by Jocelyn Correa – Academic Coach; Adjunct Faculty, Math
An explanation over the graphs used in various math courses. We will explore the differences between the graphs along with calculator functions.
Presented by Frances Stroup – Librarian
Explore the library's resources and services! Learn about tutoring, computer labs, study spaces, device lending programs, and how to navigate the catalog and find resources on databases like Academic OneFile, JSTOR, and Opposing Viewpoints.
Presented by Mark Thames – Faculty, Philosophy
European thought leaders developed the modern worldview between roughly 1600 and 1800AD. It was exported throughout the world by European settlement, conquest, and business. Thus, everyone in the world is formed by it and needs to understand it. It is what you already have been raised with. In this workshop, you will practice explaining aspects of the modern worldview in a way suitable for final examination essays.
Presented by Hilary Taylor – Faculty, Government
Professor Taylor will review government concepts and help to prepare you for your final exam.
Presented by Rashidat Ayinla Olagunju – Faculty, Chemistry
Chemical Stoichiometry deals with the calculation of the quantities of substances that are involved in chemical reactions. During the workshop, a step-by-step description of how to calculate the theoretical yield and percent yield of reactions will be presented. In addition, a straightforward way of determining the limiting reactant in a reaction will be discussed.
Presented by Florence Lockett-Miles – Faculty, Health Sciences
Aimed at HPRS students: Tips to remember health assessments and lab values from head to toe by addressing the most common normal ranges and usual mnemonics for some of the common organ systems. Come, ask questions, and take notes!
Presented by Johnny Carrizales – Academic Coach
Ready for your upcoming BIOL-1406 Final? Come join us for an extensive look back at the Spring Semester's content. Refreshments Provided!
Located at Students’ Center B100
Presented by the Learning Commons and Office of Student Life and Engagement
We know studying for finals can be stressful. Take a study break and release some stress by joining our Jeopardy session! Categories include Math and Writing. We will also have a piñata filled with goodies!
Presented by Shonda Hines – Career Connected Learning Crd of Experiential Learning
Join Career and Transfer Skills Development and learn about our online job platform Handshake. Looking for a summer job, maybe summer internship or ready to dive into applying for your career post Dallas college? This session will walk you through using Dallas Colleges unique job platform that will help you connect with employers that are ready to hire YOU!
Presented by Jameisha Reddish – Academic Coach
This workshop focuses on basic biology topics such as parts of a cell, and DNA replication, types of cells, cell parts , types of a cell that are found in humans, plants, and animals.
Presented by Tara Pratt – Support Specialist
This workshop provides helpful information and tips in preparing for one's final exam. These tips include information on tips before and during the exam, studying in chunks, active reading practices, tips on how to remain calm during test anxiety moments, brainstorming, math tips and how to search for research material and citations via library measures.
Presented by Brenda Salazar – Academic Coach
This workshop breaks down MLA citation requirements. It contains information on understanding plagiarism, how to use proper citations, how to paraphrase, and how to make notes.
Presented by Yohan Wambo – Peer Mentor
A surprising fact that people probably did not know is that math can actually be applied to real world experiences such as how to manage a household budget to how to build one's credit.
Presented by Maria Rodriguez – Academic Coach
This workshop focuses on common glitches regarding grammar basics. It includes information on the basic parts of speech, punctuation, and the mechanics of language (word order, semantics, and sentence structure), how to proofread common examples of grammar glitches (commas, comma splices, semicolons, subject-verb agreement, and passive voice.
Presented by Alfonzo Greenidge – Adjunct Faculty, Criminal Justice
This workshop discusses how to set reading goals, how to comprehend what you have read, keywords for a database search, and tips on how to stay focused, how to highlight important points in your reading, and how to make notes.
Presented by Andrew Young – Academic Coach
Have you ever wondered how to take notes for your math class? Well, have no fear, this workshop provides helpful information on how to take effective notes for Math. It offers tips on how to use shorthand, thematic color coding for notes, and extra advice on taking appropriate math notes.
Located at Room S1032
Presented by the Learning Commons and Office of Student Life and Engagement
We know studying for finals can be stressful. Take a study break and release some stress by joining our Jeopardy session! Categories include Math and Writing. We will also have a piñata filled with goodies!
Presented by Alan Beavers – Career and Transfer Skills Development Specialist
Join Career and Transfer Skills Development and learn about our online job platform Handshake. Looking for a summer job, maybe summer internship or ready to dive into applying for your career post Dallas college? This session will walk you through using Dallas Colleges unique job platform that will help you connect with employers that are ready to hire YOU!
Presented by Peter Kim – Academic Coach
An engaging presentation on the emerging trends in AI. Students will understand how to best utilize the technology and learn about ethical considerations.
Presented by Margaret Knox – Librarian
Explore the library's research resources and services! Learn about how to navigate the catalog and find resources on databases like Academic OneFile, JSTOR, and Opposing Viewpoints.
Presented by Derec Moore – Student Success Coach
Learn and discover the benefits of effective time management practices.
Presented by Patrick Durkee – Librarian
Explore the library's research resources and services! Learn about how to navigate the catalog and find resources on databases like Academic OneFile, JSTOR, and Opposing Viewpoints.
Presented by Diana Velarde – Peer Mentor
We must use math every single day in our lives, and if we are smart with our numbers, it will lead us to make good decisions. This presentation will give some tips to be smart with everyday decisions that involve math.
Located at Room H200
Presented by the Learning Commons and Office of Student Life and Engagement
We know studying for finals can be stressful. Take a study break and release some stress by joining our Jeopardy session! Categories include Math and Writing. We will also have a piñata filled with goodies!
Presented by Valerie Little – Career and Transfer Skills Development Specialist
Join Career and Transfer Skills Development and learn about our online job platform Handshake. Looking for a summer job, maybe summer internship or ready to dive into applying for your career post Dallas college? This session will walk you through using Dallas Colleges unique job platform that will help you connect with employers that are ready to hire YOU!
Presented by Makayla Logan – Academic Coach
Let's learn how to control emotions and take a deep breathe to be successful on an exam or a quiz by controlling our anxiety.
Presented by Megan Dyer – Librarian
This workshop will introduce students to NoodleTools, an online research management system provided by Dallas College. NoodleTools allows students to create citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles. It is integrated with the library’s research databases and provides tools for organized note taking, outlining and collaboration with others.
Presented by Daniel Seagrass – Academic Coach
Join us for an insightful presentation on academic testing procedures and study tips designed to enhance your performance and success in academic assessments. Discover effective strategies for preparing for exams, including time management techniques, active studying methods, and stress reduction tactics.
Presented by Jeanette Duncan – Librarian
Navigating library resources can greatly enhance your research for class assignments and essays. Discover the many resources and services the Dallas College Libraries provide, such as the catalog, databases, research guides and webinars. Learn how to identify the appropriate databases for your topic and how to refine search strategies to locate relevant information.
Presented by Chris Cason – Tutoring Specialist; Adjunct Faculty, Math
Learn about the appropriate steps in factoring equations, identifying the greatest common factor, the difference of squares, and more.
Located at El Paso Student Lounge
Presented by the Learning Commons and Office of Student Life and Engagement
We know studying for finals can be stressful. Take a study break and release some stress by joining our Jeopardy session! Categories include Math and Writing. We will also have a piñata filled with goodies!
Presented by *Presenter Name* – Career and Transfer Skills Development Specialist
Join Career and Transfer Skills Development and learn about our online job platform Handshake. Looking for a summer job, maybe summer internship or ready to dive into applying for your career post Dallas college? This session will walk you through using Dallas Colleges unique job platform that will help you connect with employers that are ready to hire YOU!