Research Guides: Engineering, Technology, Mathematics, Science: Articles (Databases)

Library Databases

Using Library Databases

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches, on the other hand, provide lots of results and can be difficult to determine which websites are reliable and provide accurate information appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In to Databases

If you are not on campus, you will need to sign in to access library databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use to access eCampus (Dallas College email address and eCampus/eConnect password).

Signing In to Library Resources Guide

ETMS Databases

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
1946 –
Find full text articles in technology, engineering and the natural and applied sciences, including veterinary sciences. Also includes articles on aerospace, military, defense and homeland security.
TexShare ProQuest
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Focus on today's most significant science topics. Explore comprehensive overviews, full-text academic peer-reviewed articles, authoritative references, published experiments, and audiovisuals. Download or email articles with MLA, APA, or Chicago Citations!.
TexShare Gale.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, water privatization, ecotourism, air pollution, green economy, and more.
TexShare Gale

Reference Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Current
Begin your research with reliable overviews from authoritative subject encyclopedias. Dependable information, citable sources.
Subscription Gale
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Current
Begin your research with reliable, up-to-date articles from Encyclopedia Britannica. Added features include quotations, detailed maps and country data, an English dictionary and thesaurus, pre-selected magazine articles, and informative web sites.
Subscription Britannica

Statistics Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
2008 – Current
Need statistics for a project or presentation? Here you can find facts, numbers, analyses, and forecasts from government, foundations, news organizations, and business. You can export the data to Excel or create graphics for PowerPoint.
Subscription Statista

Learning Express for ETMS Tutorials/Practices

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window

Improve your mathematics, algebra or computer skills. Prepare for college, military or a new career. Pass occupational exams. LearningExpress provides tutorials, exercises, e-books, practice tests, and information you need to meet your goals in school, work, or life.
TexShare LearningExpress

Examples:

Algebra & Mathematics Tutorials

Career Snapshot: Electronic Engineering Technician

Career Snapshot: Engineering Technician

Career Snapshot: Sound Engineering Technician

Explore: Hot Technologies the most in-demand technologies and software skills

Learn Popular Software Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Word, etc.

and more...

General Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Best for academic research. Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering a broad range of topics. A good place to look when you’re not sure where to start.
Subscription Gale
eLibrary Curriculum This link opens in a new window
Current
Find articles on all subjects from magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books, as well as images, maps, audio and video clips, TV and radio news transcripts, and educator-approved websites. Special modules for history and literature. All reading levels.
Subscription ProQuest
JSTOR Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts & sciences. View online, download, share, and recommend articles on social media, Includes the JSTOR Understanding Series, showcasing prominent literary works with integrated, line-by–line, multi-linked articles of scholarly research!
(NEW Special Expanded Access through June 30th)
Subscription ITHAKA.

Streaming Video Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, economics, science, history, music, and more. Follow or search synchronized transcripts for each video. Bookmark, link, embed, and share entire videos or custom clips that you create yourself.
Subscription TexShare Alexander Street
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
View documentaries, education and training films, and popular theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Bookmark, link, embed and share full videos as well as custom clips and playlists. All videos are fully ADA compliant.
NOTE: Kanopy Account required for access.
Subscription Kanopy

Other Databases & Resources

The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.