Library Research Tutorials

This video introduces you to the research databases provided by the Library and shows you how access them. After this tutorial, you will

1. Understand what a library databases is
2. Recognize the difference between general and subject-specific databases
3. Understand where and how to access Dallas College Library databases
4. Understand how to navigate the Dallas College Library databases webpage.

This video shows you how to find peer-reviewed articles in Primo, the Library catalog. After this tutorial, you will understand how to

1. Search for articles in Primo
2. Use limiters to limit your results to peer-reviewed journal articles available online
3. Set the publication date for your results
4. Access and save articles from your results

This video give you guidance on selecting the best Dallas College Library database for your research needs. After this tutorial, you will

1. Understand how to navigate the Dallas College Library databases webpage to locate subject area databses
2. Understand how to navigate the Dallas College Library databases webpage to locate databases with particular kinds of resources.

This video shows you how to find books and ebooks in the Library catalog. After this tutorial, you will understand how to

1. Search for books by keyword
2. Apply relevant filters
3. Find a book's location information
4. Request an intercollege transfer
5. Open the full text of an ebook

This video shows you how to form effective keywords to search the Library's research databases. After this tutorial, you will

1. Understand what a keyword is.
2. Understand why properly-formed keywords are essential to successful searches in the Library's research databases.
3. Understand how to create effective keywords.