Library Tutorials Guide for Faculty

If you would like to share this video with your students, please copy the direct link and/or the embed code provided below:

Introduction to Library Databases Direct Link

https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=7904524&node=33550960&a=96831973&autoplay=1

Introduction to Library Databases Embed Code

<iframe title='Embedded Media titled: Intro to Library Databases Final' width="560"  height="315"  src="https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=7904524&node=33550960&a=96831973&preload=false" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen loading="lazy"></iframe>

The student learning objectives for this tutorial are:

1. Understand what a library database is.
2. Recognize the difference between general and subject-specific databases.
3. Identify where and how to access Dallas College Library databases.
4. Understand how to navigate the Dallas College Library databases webpage.

If you would like to share this video with your students, please copy the direct link and/or the embed code provided below:

Finding Articles in the Library Catalog Direct Link

https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=10403482&node=45400623&a=167643478

Finding Books and Ebooks in the Library Catalog Embed Code

<iframe title='Embedded Media titled: Finding Articles in Primo Final' width="560" height="315" src="https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=10403482&node=45400623&a=167643478&a=143865016&preload=false" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen loading="lazy"></iframe>

The student learning objectives for this tutorial are:

1. Understand how to search for articles in the library catalog.
2. Use limiters to limit your results to peer-reviewed journal articles available online.
3. Set the publication date for your results.
4. Access and save articles from your results.

If you would like to share this video with your students, please copy the direct link and/or the embed code provided below:

Selecting Library Databases Direct Link

https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=7905369&node=33555632&a=20265156&autoplay=1

Selecting Library Databases Embed Code

<iframe title='Embedded Media titled: Selecting Library Databases Final' width="560"  height="315"  src="https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=7905369&node=33555632&a=20265156&preload=false" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen loading="lazy"></iframe>

The student learning objectives for this tutorial are:

1. Understand how to navigate the Dallas College Library databases webpage to locate subject area databases.
2. Understand how to navigate the library databases webpage to locate databases with particular kinds of resources, such as e-books.

If you would like to share this video with your students, please copy the direct link and/or the embed code provided below:

Finding Books and Ebooks in the Library Catalog Direct Link

https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=10605351&node=46316343&a=209101041

Finding Books and Ebooks in the Library Catalog Embed Code

<iframe title='Embedded Media titled: Finding Books and Ebooks in the Library Catalog Final' width="560"  height="315"  src="https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=10605351&node=46316343&a=209101041&preload=false" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen loading="lazy"></iframe>

The student learning objectives for this tutorial are:

1. Understand how to search for books by keyword.
2. Apply relevant filters.
3. Find a book's location information.
4. Request an intercollege transfer.
5. Open the full text of an ebook.

If you would like to share this video with your students, please copy the direct link and/or the embed code provided below:

Creating Effective Keywords for Searching Databases Direct Link

https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=8724240&node=37706362&a=1973456&autoplay=1

Creating Effective Keywords for Searching Databases Embed Code

<iframe title='Embedded Media titled: Keywords Final' width="560"  height="315"  src="https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=8724240&node=37706362&a=1973456&preload=false" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen loading="lazy"></iframe>

The student learning objectives for this tutorial are:

1. Understand what a keyword is.
2. Understand why properly-formed keywords are essential to successful searches in the Library's research databases.
3. Understand how to create effective keywords.

If you would like to share this video with your students, please copy the direct link and/or the embed code provided below:

Understanding and Using Boolean Operators Direct Link

https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=11674624&node=51434020&a=45356614

Understanding and Using Boolean Operators Embed Code

<iframe title='Embedded Media titled: Boolean Operators Final' width="560"  height="315"  src="https://dcccd.yuja.com/V/Video?v=11674624&node=51434020&a=45356614&preload=false" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen loading="lazy"></iframe>

The student learning objectives for this tutorial are:

1. Be able to identify the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT.
2. Understand how Boolean operators are used in database searching.
3. Apply Boolean operators to narrow or expand search results.