Using Library Databases
Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches, on the other hand, provide lots of results and can be difficult to determine which websites are reliable and provide accurate information appropriate for college-level research.
Signing In to Databases
If you are not on campus, you will need to sign in to access library databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use to access eCampus (Dallas College email address and eCampus/eConnect password).
Business Insights Global
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Begin your research with reliable overviews from authoritative subject encyclopedias. Dependable information, citable sources.
Statista This link opens in a new window
2008 – Current
Need statistics for a project or presentation? Here you can find facts, numbers, analyses, and forecasts from government, foundations, news organizations, and business. You can export the data to Excel or create graphics for PowerPoint.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles about business topics and news stories, popular culture, arts, sports, companies, people, and products.
Streaming Video Databases
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
View documentaries, education and training films, and popular theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Bookmark, link, embed and share full videos as well as custom clips and playlists. All videos are fully ADA compliant.
NOTE: Kanopy Account
required for access.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Best for academic research. Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering a broad range of topics. A good place to look when you’re not sure where to start.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
JSTOR Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts & sciences. View online, download, share, and recommend articles on social media, Includes the JSTOR Understanding Series, showcasing prominent literary works with integrated, line-by–line, multi-linked articles of scholarly research!
(NEW Special Expanded Access through June 30th)
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Find articles in peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals available free on the Web. Covers a wide variety of subjects in many languages.
Free Lund Univ. Libraries
Other Databases & Resources
The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.