Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches, on the other hand, provide lots of results and can be difficult to determine which websites are reliable and provide accurate information appropriate forcollege-level research.
Signing In to Databases
If you are not on campus, you will need to sign in to access library databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use to access eCampus (Dallas College email address and eCampus/eConnect password).
Focus on today's most significant science topics. Explore comprehensive overviews, full-text academic peer-reviewed articles, authoritative references, published experiments, and audiovisuals. Download or email articles with MLA, APA, or Chicago Citations!.
Find full text articles in technology, engineering and the natural and applied sciences, including veterinary sciences. Also includes articles on aerospace, military, defense and homeland security.
Access bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and more. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Begin your research with reliable, up-to-date articles from Encyclopedia Britannica. Added features include quotations, detailed maps and country data, an English dictionary and thesaurus, pre-selected magazine articles, and informative web sites.
2008 – Current
Need statistics for a project or presentation? Here you can find facts, numbers, analyses, and forecasts from government, foundations, news organizations, and business. You can export the data to Excel or create graphics for PowerPoint.
Find a variety of perspectives on current event issues and controversies in the news, providing facts as well as pros and cons. Includes e-books, magazine articles, newspaper articles, multimedia, charts, graphs, and images.
Find current controversial topics, each with an overview, point (argument), counterpoint (Opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Contains full-text academic journal, newspaper and magazine articles, primary source documents, images and videos.
Best for academic research. Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering a broad range of topics. A good place to look when you’re not sure where to start.
Find articles on all subjects from magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books, as well as images, maps, audio and video clips, TV and radio news transcripts, and educator-approved websites. Special modules for history and literature. All reading levels.
Video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, economics, science, history, music, and more. Follow or search synchronized transcripts for each video. Bookmark, link, embed, and share entire videos or custom clips that you create yourself.
Subscription TexShare Alexander Street
View documentaries, education and training films, and popular theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Bookmark, link, embed and share full videos as well as custom clips and playlists. All videos are fully ADA compliant. NOTE: Kanopy Account required for access.
Other Databases & Resources
The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.