Research Guides: Music: Articles (Databases)

Library Databases

Using Library Databases

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches, on the other hand, provide lots of results and can be difficult to determine which websites are reliable and provide accurate information appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In to Databases

If you are not on campus, you will need to sign in to access library databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use to access eCampus (Dallas College email address and eCampus/eConnect password).

Signing In to Library Resources Guide

Music Databases

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Historical -
Find a comprehensive collection of classical music, world music, jazz, folk music, and pop/rock. Search by composer, work, genre and label. Text resources include a glossary, histories, & librettos. Listeners can create a personalized playlist.
Subscription Naxos Digital. Also available as an App for IOS and Android devcies. Use dcccd15STL for access code.
JSTOR Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts & sciences. View online, download, share, and recommend articles on social media, Includes the JSTOR Understanding Series, showcasing prominent literary works with integrated, line-by–line, multi-linked articles of scholarly research!
(NEW Special Expanded Access through June 30th)
Subscription ITHAKA.

General Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Best for academic research. Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering a broad range of topics. A good place to look when you’re not sure where to start.
Subscription Gale

Streaming Video Databases

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
View documentaries, education and training films, and popular theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Bookmark, link, embed and share full videos as well as custom clips and playlists. All videos are fully ADA compliant.
NOTE: Kanopy Account required for access.
Subscription Kanopy
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, economics, science, history, music, and more. Follow or search synchronized transcripts for each video. Bookmark, link, embed, and share entire videos or custom clips that you create yourself.
Subscription TexShare Alexander Street

Reference Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Current
Begin your research with reliable overviews from authoritative subject encyclopedias. Dependable information, citable sources.
Subscription Gale
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Current
Begin your research with reliable, up-to-date articles from Encyclopedia Britannica. Added features include quotations, detailed maps and country data, an English dictionary and thesaurus, pre-selected magazine articles, and informative web sites.
Subscription Britannica

Other Databases & Resources

The link below goes to go to an alphabetical list of all library databases and has a drop-down menu to find databases on specific subjects.