How to Research
Informative free site dedicated to alternative photographic processes.
Frequently updated listings of current art events in the Dallas area.
The Atlas of Analytical Signatures of Photographic Processes
Historical photographic processes, illustrated and expertly explained.
Reviews of vintage film cameras.
Care, Handling, and Storage of Photographs
Detailed information from the Library of Congress about the proper storage and preservation of photographic prints.
Flickr: The Commons
Wiki-style project enlisting the public's help in tagging photographs from the world's archives.
Contemporary photography network sponsoring international photography competitions, grants, exhibitions, and an online magazine
Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs
Digital images of photographs held by the Library of Congress.
National Gallery of Art Photography Collection
Offers access to hundreds of photographic images, created from the late 1830s through today, searchable by time period, photographic process, subject, and location.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Smithsonian Archives of American Art: Photography
Collections of photographers' papers, prints, and other personal items. Selected items are digitized.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Photographs in the collection may be searched by date, as well as by location.
The American Museum of Photography
Amon Carter Museum of American Art: "Photography at the Carter"
Art Institute of Chicago
Dallas Museum of Art
Fodazione Alinari per la Fotografia
George Eastman Museum
The Guggenheim Photography Collection Online
International Center of Photography
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Museum of Contemporary Photography
Museum of Fine Arts Boston
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) Photography Collections
Museum of Photographic Arts
Photography at the National Gallery of Art
Photography Collection of the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
Smithsonian Institution Photography
Victoria and Albert Museum
Professional Association Websites and Photography Groups
American Society of Media Photographers
Dedicated to supporting visual content creators through networking opportunities and information about copyright protection.
The Daguerreian Society
"The leading organization dedicated to the history, technology, art, and preservation of 19th-century photography." International and open to all.
Dallas Camera Club
Membership group of amateur photographers hosting competitions and events, workshops, field trips, and classes.
Dallas Professional Photographers Association
Large guild offering "networking and educational opportunities for skills improvement to local professional and aspiring photographers."
International photographic cooperative founded in 1947. Good source of biographies and the selected work of current and former members.
Meetup Photography Groups in Dallas
Photographic Society of America
Founded in 1934, with world-wide membership, offering "online learning, webinars, study groups, competitions, mentors and consultants."
Plano Photography Club
"Open to amateurs, enthusiasts, and professionals with an interest in expanding their photographic skills and practicing their craft with others."
The Society for Photographic Education
"Engages worldwide membership and affiliated communities through a range of supportive platforms including conferences, events, and publications."
Texas Photographic Society
Offers workshops, individual critiques, and opportunities to exhibit.
How to Research >>
Report an Online Accessibility Issue
Report a Problem
Feb 14, 2024 11:22 AM
Login to LibApps
Search this Guide