Research Guides: Medical, Health, and Biology: Web Resources

Health Sciences Websites

3D Models (Merck Manual) Includes 3D models for cardiovascular disorders, critical care medicine, dental disorders, ear, nose, and throat disorders, endocrine and metabolic disorders, eye disorders, gastrointestinal disorders, genitourinary disorders, gynecology and obstetrics, hepatic and biliary disorders, infectious diseases, injuries and poisoning, musculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders, neurologic disorders, pediatrics, and pulmonary disorders.
Biodiversity Heritage Library Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community
CDC: National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) NCHS is the nation's principal health statistics agency. Data provide insights into the health of people across the United States and how their health changes over time.
Clinical Calculators (Merck Manual) Clinical calculators organized by letters
Clinical Trials.gov The purpose of ClinicalTrials.gov is to provide information about clinical research studies to the public, researchers, and health care professionals
Clinical Trials.gov Glossary Terms Glossary terms for subject-specific words that can be found in the documents in the Clinical Trials.gov database.
Concept Mapping as a Method to Engage Patients in Clinical Quality Improvement Article from the Annals of Family Medicine covering an overview of concept mapping for engaging patients in primary care practice improvement, its use as a tool for primary care practice improvement, research, and evaluation, and resources to enable researchers and practice leaders to use this tool in practice improvement.
DailyMed Provide package insert information for FDA approved drugs
Dallas County Health and Human Services Dept. Health Advisories, Data, and Reports DCHHS's health advisories, data, and reports are essential tools in promoting public health and ensuring the well-being of communities. Click on tabs on the left to explore epidemiology statistics, reports, and dashboards, health advisories, measure and metrics, and reports. They provide valuable information about various diseases, their prevalence, and effective prevention or control methods.
Diseases and Conditions (Mayo Clinic) Find diseases and conditions by either typing in the search box or searching by first letter. Webpage includes a symptom checker, link to searching clinical trials, and connecting with support groups.
Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements (Medline Plus) Information on prescription and over-the-counter medicines and supplements
Drugs and Supplements (Mayo Clinic) Search for prescription and over-the-counter drugs in a search box or by first letter on Mayo Clinic.
Figure 1 Medical cases shared and discussed by healthcare professionals. Free app available for download on Google Play and the App Store.
Health Check Tools (MedlinePlus) Assess health with interactive tools such as calculators, quizzes, and questionnaires from MedlinePlus.
Healthfinder A federal website for consumers, Healthfinder, was developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services together with other Federal agencies
Healthline A website of medical expertise was developed in conjunction with physicians and is maintained by medical information specialists
Health Topics (Medline Plus) Read about symptoms, causes, treatment, and prevention for over 1,000 diseases, illnesses, health conditions, and wellness issues. Browse by body location/systems, disorders and conditions, diagnosis and therapy, demographic groups, and health and wellness.
Health Videos Animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.
HSTAT: Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts Includes evidence reports from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRG), protocols from Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), preventative medicine from U.S. Preventative Services Task Force (USPSTF), consensus reports, and methods from AHRG Effective Health Care Program.
KidsHealth From Nemours Children's Health. Includes articles, videos, animations, print publications, and health instructions for parents, kids, teens, and educators
LactMed LactMed database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed
Medical images, photos, videos, and animations (NLM) Lists some resources for medical stock shots, images, photographs, slides, videos, animations, and film footage.
MedlinePlus Online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. Search for health topics, medical encyclopedia, genetics, drugs & supplements, medical tests, and healthy recipes.
Merck Manual: For Consumers Mission of providing best medical information to consumers. Search or browse by health topics, healthy living, symptoms, emergencies, drug info, resources, and commentary.
Merck Manual: For Health Care Professionals Mission to provide medical information for medical professionals, students, veterinarians, and veterinary students.
National Institute of Health: Clinical Trials Research Includes information on the basics of clinical research trials, finding a clinical trial, list of registries, personal stories, for parents and children, for health care providers, for research and trial sites, educational resources, glossary of common terms, if you have a question, and related news.
PubChem Search a chemical name or structure to find everything known about it from what it's called, what it looks like, what it does to your body, patent information, related journal literature, and more
PubMed National Library of Medicine
Quizzes (Merck Manual) Test your knowledge on the topics of cardiovascular disorders, clinical pharmacology, critical care medicine, dental disorders, dermatologic disorders, ear, nose, and throat disorders, endocrine and metabolic disorders, eye disorders, gastrointestinal disorders, genitourinary disorders, geriatrics, gynecology and obstetrics, hematology and oncology, hepatic and biliary disorders, immunology and immunology and allergic disorders, infectious diseases, injuries and poisoning, musculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders, neurologic disorders, nutritional disorders, pediatrics, psychiatric disorders, pulmonary disorders, and special subjects.
Radiopaedia Free educational radiology resource with collections of radiology cases and reference articles
Symptoms (Merck Manual) Symptom management related to bleeding, ear, nose, and throat, eye, gastrointestinal, general, genitourinary, gynecologic & obstetric, musculoskeletal, neurology, oral and dental, pain, pediatric, pulmonary and cardiovascular, and skin.
Test Your Knowledge (MedlinePlus) Test knowledge about health, wellness, diseases, and conditions with these quizzes that are listed in alphabetical order.
Understanding Medical Words Tutorial Tutorial teaches medical words and how parts of medical words are put together with quizzes to check on what you have learned.

Health Literacy

Evaluating Internet Health Information (National Library of Medicine) This tutorial teaches you to evaluate the health information you can find on the internet by comparing two different sites.
Toolkit for Addressing Health Misinformation (Office of U.S. Surgeon General) Sections cover what health misinformation is, why it is tempting to share health misinformation, how to talk about health misinformation with your family, friends, and community, common disinformation tactics, if you're not sure, don't share, and further resources.
Finding and Evaluating Online Resources (NCCIH) National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
Online Health Information - What can you trust? (MedlinePlus) Tips for determining the health information you can trust with what to look for, things to keep in mind, and where to start.
Evaluating Health Information (Medline Plus) Medline Plus' Evaluating Health Information page helps users understand health information
Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Checklist (MedlinePlus) Checklist looking through provider, funding, quality, and privacy.
Health Information on the Web: Finding Reliable Information Article from familydoctor.org that covers path to improved health, confirming where the information come from, how current it is, who is responsible for website content, and things to consider.
Health Education Materials Assessment Tool (NLM) Use this tool to determine if a health education material would be easy to read and understand (helpful when recommending materials for patients).

Institute and Organization Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention CDC is a science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public's health
Clinical Center: National Institutes of Health Works to understand, diagnose, and treat illnesses that can improve health for all Americans
Dallas County Health Department DCHHS is a nationally accredited public health department responsible for providing health and social services that protect the health and well-being of over 2.6 million people that call Dallas County home.
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (DMID) DMID provides funding opportunities and a comprehensive set of resources for researchers that support basic research, preclinical development, and clinical evaluation.
EPA - Center for Public Health and Environmental Assessment (CPHEA) The Center for Public Health and Environmental Assessment (CPHEA) develops human health and environmental assessments that support EPA program and regional policies and decisions.
National Cancer Institute (NCI) Improving lives of all people through cancer research - resources for people affected by cancer and researchers
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) NCCIH is the component of the U.S. National Institutes of Health that conducts, funds, and shares scientific research on complementary and integrative health topics.
National Eye Institute (NEI) Mission is to eliminate vision loss and improve quality of life through vision research
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Through research, training, and education, NHLBI promotes the prevention and treatment of heart, lung, and blood diseases to enhance the health of all individuals
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Research strives to understand, treat, and ultimately prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergies diseases that threaten lives
National Institute of Health The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
National Institute on Aging (NIA) Provides health information informed by research and reviewed by experts to help you learn about healthy aging and common health conditions in older adults
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) Supports and conducts research on the impact of alcohol use on human health and well-being
National Library of Medicine The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
National Library of Medicine: National Center for Biotechnology Information The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) ODPHP establishes and promotes national public health priorities, translates science into policy, guidance, and tools, and work to improve health literacy and equitable access to clear and actionable health information.
PLOS (Public Library of Science) PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future.
Science.gov Science.gov provides access to millions of authoritative scientific research results from U.S. federal agencies.
Texas Department of Health and Human Services Texas Health and Human Services, also known as the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), helps more than 7.5 million Texans every month. HHSC also regulates health care providers, professions and facilities to protect the health and safety of Texans.
U.S. National Science Foundation The U.S. National Science Foundation is an independent federal agency that supports science and engineering in all 50 states and U.S. territories mainly through making grants.
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force An independent, volunteer panel of national experts in disease prevention and evidence-based medicine
WHO: World Health Organization Our team of 8000+ professionals includes the world’s leading public health experts, including doctors, epidemiologists, scientists and managers. Together, we coordinate the world’s response to health emergencies, promote well-being, prevent disease and expand access to health care.

Professional Associatons

American Hospital Association The American Hospital Association (AHA) is the national organization that represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities. Nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members come together to form the AHA.
American Medical Association Founded in 1847, the American Medical Association (AMA) is the largest and only national association that convenes 190+ state and specialty medical societies and other critical stakeholders. Throughout history, the AMA has always followed its mission: to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.
American Society for Microbiology Established in 1899, ASM is the home for microbial scientists from around the globe to connect, learn, discover and prepare for the future.
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Representing pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings.
Medical Library Association Professional resources for developing skills in evidence-based practice
Texas Department of Health State Services The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) has been restructured to sharpen our focus on public health. Their job is to promote and protect the health of people, and the communities where they live, learn, work, worship, and play.
Texas Medical Association Texas Medical Association was organized by 35 physicians in 1853 to serve the people of Texas in matters of medical care, prevention and cure of disease, and the improvement of public health. Today, with more than 59,000 physician and medical student members, TMA is the nation's largest state medical society.

Biology Websites

Biology 2e OpenStax Textbook: The Cell Textbook provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts.
AP/College Biology (Khan Academy) Explore biology through topics like biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, evolution, and ecology. Make sure to sign up to save your progress.
InnerBody Hundreds of interactive anatomy pictures and descriptions of thousands of objects in the body

Medical Coding Websites

International Statistical Classification for Mortality and Morbidity Statistics 11th Revision 2024 (ICD-11) ICD-11 provides a unified framework enabling policymakers to align healthcare initiatives nationally and globally
Medical Coding Manual (ICD-10) U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
ICD-11: International Classification of Diseases 11th Revision Homepage Includes seeing the content on a browse, the coding tool, reference guide, fact sheet, and training.

Nursing Websites & Associations

American Association for Men in Nursing Has the objective of encouraging men and young men in the United States to become nurses and join together with all nurses in strengthening and humanizing health care to Americans
American Nurses Association Mission is to lead the profession to shape the future of nursing and health care
American Psychiatric Nurses Association APNA is committed to the practice of psychiatric-mental health nursing, health and wellness promotion through identification of mental health issues, prevention of mental health problems, and the care and treatment of persons with mental health disorders
Dosage Calculations (OpenStax) From the nursing OpenStax textbook, webpage includes information about the systems of measurement, drug labels and precautions, drug calculation methods, and rounding rules
Easy Auscultation (Heart and Lung Sounds) Includes lessons, practice drills, and quizzes with detailed instruction in auscultation. To review, use the fast reference guide for heart and lung sounds.
Emergency Nurses Association The ENA mission is to lead the advancement of excellence and innovation in emergency nursing through research, education, resources, advocacy and collaboration.
Lippincott's Nursing Center Created by nurses, for nurses, Lippincott NursingCenter.com is an online destination for peer-reviewed nursing journals and continuing professional development resources based on the best evidence available.
National Institutes of Nursing Research The National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) is one of 27 Institutes and Centers at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the nation’s medical research agency.
National League for Nursing The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, assessment services, nursing research grants, and public policy advocacy for nearly 45,000 individual and over 1,000 institutional members.
National Student Nurses' Association NSNA’s mission is to mentor students preparing for initial licensure as registered nurses, and to convey the standards, ethics, and skills that students will need as responsible and accountable leaders and members of the profession.
Nursing Math Calculations (National Library of Medicine) Covers how to perform calculations, convert between metric and household systems, military time, use dimensional analysis, and accurately solve calculations.
Nursing Practice Act (Texas Board of Nursing) Learn more about the laws and rules by click on the PDF download for the most recent iteration of the NPA.
Pharmacology for Nurses Textbook from OpenStax
Texas Board of Nursing The Texas Board of Nursing has been serving the public for more than 100 years since its establishment in 1909 by the Legislature to regulate the safe practice of nursing in Texas.
Texas Board of Nursing Laws & Regulations Read through the current Texas Board of Nursing rules and regulations either with a PDF download or HTML version.
Texas Nurses Association The Texas Nurses Association is the voice for nurses in Texas. TNA provides a wide array of member services, including continuing education, practice protection, the member helpline, weekly e-newsletters with practice tips and the quarterly Texas Nursing magazine.
Texas Nurses Foundation The Texas Nurses Foundation is the charitable, professional and scholarly arm of the Texas Nurses Association. Proceeds from charitable gifts are administered by TNF to support activities that promote health care by enhancing the art and science of nursing.

Genetics Websites

Fact Sheets about Genomics (NHGRI) From National Human Genome Research Institute
GenBank Designed to provide the scientific community access to the most up to date and comprehensive DNA sequence information
Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center (GARD) GARD's mission is to help the rare disease community meet common challenges by providing free access to reliable and easy to understand information.
Genetic Disease Foundation GDF includes information about genetic heritage and carrier screening.
Genetics Consumer Reference (Medline Plus) Explore the signs and symptoms, causes, and inheritance of over 1,300 health conditions
Help Me Understand Genetics (MedlinePlus) Explore topics in human genetics, from the basics of DNA to genomic research and personalized medicine
Learn Genetics Covers topics like genetics, cell biology, plants, ecology, evolution, human health, neuroscience, and science tools
National Human Genome Research Institute NHGRI's work encompasses a broad range of research aimed at expanding understanding of human biology and improving human health
OMIM - An Online Catalog of Human Genes and Genetic Disorders Online Catalog of Human Genes and Genetic Disorders
Vital Statistics (Texas Health and Human Services) Texas Health and Human Services