Digital History (U. of Houston)Find primary sources (including court cases and landmark documents), special topics section, a history reference room and more
Documenting the American SouthDocumenting the American South
Find primary resources related to Southern history, literature, and culture. From University of North Carolina.
Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA)Collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
Founders OnlineLetters, legal documents, and more from John Adams, James Madison, Ben Franklin, George Washington, Alexander Hamilton.
A Continent Divided: The U.S. - Mexico WarOne of the largest online collections of primary source materials on the U.S. - Mexico War. A joint project of the Center for Greater Southwestern Studies and the Library at the University of Texas at Arlington.
Dallas Mexican American Historical LeagueOrganization dedicated to researching, collecting, and preserving the historical and cultural experiences of Mexican Americans in Dallas from the early 1900s to the present.
Handbook of Tejano HistoryContains more than 1,200 entries, including 300 new entries, detailing the critical influence of Tejanos on the Lone Star State
Historic Mexican & Mexican American PressCollection showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from mid-1800s to 1970s.
Handbook of TexasFind over 23,000 articles dealing with Texas history, geography, and culture. Topics include information on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and more in this multidisciplinary encyclopedia.
The Portal to Texas HistoryThe Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture in a college yearbook to a rare historical map.
BlackPastOnline reference center provides a wealth of materials on African American history
Civil Rights Digital LibraryUnedited news film, sound recordings, and texts document the events, places, and people of the civil rights movement.
In Motion: The African-American Migration ExperiencePresents more than 16,500 pages of texts, 8,300 illustrations, and more than 60 maps related to defining migrations that have formed and transformed African America and the nation.
British Library Online GalleryView 30,000 items from the Library's collection, including old maps, virtual books, and online exhibitions
Google News ArchivesProvides free access to scanned newspapers, some dating to 18th century
History ChannelTopic pages, "This Day in History", videos and more
HistoryExtraWebsite for BBC History Magazine and BBC History Revealed
Jewish Women's ArchiveArchive documents Jewish women's stories, elevates their voices, and inspires them to be agents of change.
Perseus Digital LibraryOnline collection covers history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world
Women in World HistoryOnline curriculum resource center provides primary sources dealing with women and gender in world history.
World Digital LibrarySearch 10,000+ items about countries across the world dating from 8000 BCE to 2000 CE. Interactive "Timelines" detail historical events from 8000 BCE to present.
World History ArchivesDocuments to support the study of world history from a working-class and non-Eurocentric perspective.
World History ConnectedPresents world history scholarship, latest research and debates, and presents the best in world history learning and teaching methods and practices
World History MattersFind online primary sources and further your understanding of the complex nature of world history issues
American Historical AssociationThe American Historical Association is the largest professional organization serving historians in all fields and all professions.
National Council for History EducationThe National Council for History Education provides professional and intellectual leadership to foster an engaged community committed to the teaching, learning, and appreciation of diverse histories.
Organization of American HistoriansThe Organization of American Historians promotes excellence in the scholarship, teaching, and presentation of American history.
World History AssociationThe World History Association (WHA) is a professional association of scholars, teachers, and students organized to promote world history by encouraging teaching, research, publications, and personal interactions.
Streaming Media and Interactive Websites
American ExperienceVideos of selected episodes of the PBS program The American Experience.
American Experience: The PresidentsPBS program collection includes documentaries, biographies, interviews, articles, image galleries and more for an in-depth look at the history of the American presidency.
Colonial HouseA variety of interactive activities exploring the Colonial period.
Liberty!: The American RevolutionExamines Colonial life, the Colonies in the global context, and the military aspects of the Revolutionary War.
Mapping HistoryInteractive and animated representations of historical events and developments.
Rick Steves Classroom EuropeFree online video library featuring roughly 500 educational clips including the best of European history, art, culture, and experiences (plus topics beyond Europe).
