Research Guides: Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Technology: Articles (Databases)

Library Databases

Using Library Databases

Many library databases have full-text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers). Some databases also have book chapters, videos, images and more. Databases are specifically designed for research and provide reliable results from known sources. Google searches, on the other hand, provide lots of results and can be difficult to determine which websites are reliable and provide accurate information appropriate for college-level research.

Signing In to Databases

If you are not on campus, you will need to sign in to access library databases. The information needed to sign in is exactly the same as what you use to access eCampus (Dallas College email address and eCampus/eConnect password).

Signing In to Library Resources Guide

GIS-Related Databases

Environmental Studies (Gale in Context)
Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, water privatization, ecotourism, air pollution, green economy, and more.
GeoRef
Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef contains millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
SciTech Premium Collection
Provides access to materials in the natural sciences, technology, engineering, and related disciplines and offers full-text from peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, books/monographs, conference proceedings, reports, newswires, video material and more.
Statista
Aggregates statistical data on international industries from thousands of sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Find detailed maps of 400 Texas cities and towns from 1885 to 1970. Originally created for insurance companies to assess fire risks, these maps are now valuable sources for genealogy and Texas urban history.

Current Issue Databases

Opposing Viewpoints
Find a variety of perspectives on current event issues and controversies in the news, providing facts as well as pros and cons. Includes e-books, magazine articles, newspaper articles, multimedia, charts, graphs, and images.
Points of View
Find current controversial topics, each with an overview, point (argument), counterpoint (Opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Contains full-text academic journal, newspaper and magazine articles, primary source documents, images and videos.
SIRS Researcher
Find newspaper and magazine articles on current events and social issues. SIRS provides overviews with images, maps, statistics, and opposing viewpoints.

General Databases

Academic OneFile
Best for academic research. Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering a broad range of topics. A good place to look when you’re not sure where to start.
JSTOR Essential Collection
Includes top peer-reviewed scholarly journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources such as maps, charts, and graphs.