Architecture

International architecture database providing information about worldwide architectural projects, both current and historic.

Open access source of information about architecture, urban design, and development in the Muslim world.

Premier U.S. research facility devoted to the development of technologies to improve the energy efficiency and environmental compatibility of residential and commercial buildings.

Library of Congress collections documenting architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States.

Step-by-step guide developed by the Dallas Public Library for researching the date of a building's construction and the identity of its architect or contractor.

Free access to thousands of digitized maps from UT Austin's renowned collection. Includes early maps of Texas cities, Central Intelligence Agency maps, world maps, and links to other online map collections.

National Park Service publications addressing a wide range of specific repair issues encountered in the preservation and restoration of historic buildings.

Collection of architectural images, including photographs, prints, designs, architectural models, and portraits of architects.

Downloadable georeferenced maps and vector datasets.

Site of the Texas Historical Commission, the agency dedicated to historic preservation within the state of Texas. THC administers the National Register of Historic Places for sites in Texas.

Mapped World Heritage Sites linked to photographs and descriptions.

Outlines the specific requirements of the Architectural Experience Program (AXP). The AXP, which is developed, maintained, and administered by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB), is a required training program for candidates pursuing architecture licensure.

The ARE (Architectural Record Exam) is a rigorous, multi-part, professional licensure examination designed to test the candidate's knowledge, skills, and ability to practice architecture independently. This site provides information and support for licensure candidates.

Maps and clearly explains the several paths to architecture licensure.

Dallas chapter of The American Institute of Architects, supporting professional development, education, advocacy, and seven signature events.

Open to licensed architects and associated professionals, the AIA offers education, government advocacy, community redevelopment, and public outreach to support the architecture profession.

"A student-run organization dedicated to providing unmatched progressive programs, information, and resources on issues critical to architecture and the experience of education."

Dallas cultural organization fostering appreciation of architecture and design through exhibitions, free programming, and Dallas walking tours.

Aims to "foster justice and equity in communities of color through outreach, community advocacy, professional development, and design excellence."

Regulates the practice of architecture, landscape architecture, and interior design in Texas, overseeing registration and credential maintenance.

A professional organization based in Austin, representing Texas members of the American Institute of Architects (AIA).

Site offering access to model building codes developed by the International Code Council (ICC).

Searchable municipal codes online.

Texas government code requirements for accessibility to sites, facilities, buildings, and elements by individuals with disabilities.

Texas State Law Library links to online editions of building codes on publishers' websites.