Skip to main content

Learning Frameworks (EDUC 1300) - Information Literacy: For Students: Class Activities 1-4

A source of information literacy ideas and activities for instructors and students, both online and in face to face classes

Update for Class Activities


Mini-Lectures

DCCCD Libraries

View a map of our locations.

Brookhaven Library 
Reference: 972-860-4862
Circulation: 972-860-4863 
Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Sunday: Closed 
Campus map

Cedar Valley Library 
Reference: 972-860-8140
Circulation: 972-860-8140
Fall and Spring Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 9 p.m.
   Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
   Saturday: 9 a.m. to noon
   Sunday: Closed 
Winter and May Term Hours
   Monday through Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
   Saturday: Closed
   Sunday: Closed
Summer Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 9 p.m.
   Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
   Saturday: Closed
   Sunday: Closed 
Campus map

Dallas TeleCollege Library 
888-468-4268 (in Dallas: 972-669-6400) 
Campus map

Eastfield Library 
Reference: 972-860-7174
Circulation: 972-860-7168 
Fall and Spring Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to 9 p.m.
   Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
   Saturday: 9 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
   Sunday: Closed 
Winter and May Term Hours
   Monday through Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.
   Saturday: Closed
   Sunday: Closed
Summer Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to 10 p.m.
   Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
   Saturday: 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
   Sunday: Closed
Campus map

El Centro Library - Downtown Campus
Reference: 214-860-2174
Circulation: 214-860-2175
Fall and Spring Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to 9 p.m.
   Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
   Saturday: 9 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
   Sunday: Noon to 3 p.m.
Summer Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 8:30 p.m.
   Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
   Saturday: Closed
   Sunday: Closed
Between Spring and Fall (including Maymester and Wintermester)
   Monday through Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
   Saturday and Sunday: Closed 
Closed School Holidays
Campus map


El Centro Library - Bill Priest Campus 
Reference: 214-860-5780
Circulation: 214-860-5780
Monday through Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed
Campus map

Mountain View Library
Reference: 214-860-8527
Circulation: 214-860-8669
Fall and Spring Hours
Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Sunday: Closed 
Campus map

North Lake Library 
Reference: 972-273-3401
Circulation: 972-273-3400
Fall and Spring Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 9 p.m.
   Friday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
   Saturday: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
   Sunday: Closed 
Winter and May Term Hours
   Monday through Friday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
   Saturday: Closed
   Sunday: Closed
Summer Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 9 p.m.
   Friday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
   Saturday: Closed
   Sunday: Closed 
Campus map
 
Richland Library
Reference: 972-238-6082
Circulation: 972-238-6081
e-mail: richlandlibrary@dcccd.edu
Fall and Spring Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.
   Friday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
   Saturday: 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
   Sunday: Closed
Summer Hours
   Monday through Thursday: 8 a.m. to 9 p.m.
   Friday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
   Saturday: Closed
   Sunday: Closed
Campus map

Class Experience Set 1: Information Literacy as a Life Skill

Click on the Activity No. (e.g., Activity 1:1) for tips. After completing the activity, you may want to click on the Aha! link  for an answer to the question. 
  • Activity 1.1  Recognize that all thinking requires information and that the accuracy of that information is vital.  
     Go to the Web site EveryoneThinks.org and read the page there about the importance of information and its sources.
    Are the statements in the page reliable? How do you know? Using the inverted pyramid on page 384 of your textbook, Academic Transformations, determine the type of source of the page you just read (EveryoneThinks.org). Then write a simple argument of three or four sentences convincing someone that the sponsor of this page knows what they're talking about. Aha!

 

Class Experience Set 2: Libraries and the Web

Click on the Activity No. (e.g., Activity 2:1) for tips. After completing the activity, you may want to click on the Aha! link  for an answer to the question. 
  • Activity 2.1  Learn everything you can about your most accessible library. 
      Take a virtual tour of your campus library. Brookhaven | Cedar Valley | Eastfield | El Centro | Mountain View | North Lake | Richland 
     What are 3 things you did not know about this library? Aha! 
     
  • Activity 2.2  Make good use of Google Books, a powerful research tool. 
     Read through the IRIS Google Books tutorial (9 screens). Go to the Google Books site and type in "critical thinking." Click on the first title that comes up (by Richard Paul) then click on About This Book in the left sidebar. Go down to the section you learned about called "Popular Passages." Identify a quote there that could be used in a speech or research paper.   Aha!

  • Activity 2.3  Make sure you understand call numbers so you can find books in the library.
     Read through the IRIS Call Number tutorial (9 screens). Be sure to do the activity with the Library of Congress system on screen 5 . What is unusual about the 3rd line of a Library of Congress call number and why is it important for finding books effectively? Aha!
  • Activity 2.4  Make sure you understand Wikipedia so you'll know what it can and cannot do. Decide when and how  to use it.   
     Do one of these activities about Wikipedia. 1) An informative video (6 min.). 2) An article about Wikipedia as controversy. 3) An IRIS Wikipedia tutorial.  In your judgment when should you use it and when should you not? What evidence would you use to make your case? Aha! 



Class Experience Set 3: Research Tools

Click on the Activity No. (e.g., Activity 3:1) for tips. After completing the activity, you may want to click on the Aha! link  for an answer to the question. 

Activity 3.1 Go beyond Google. Use the library's online databases.
View this 37 minute video tour of online databases (six essential finding tools) available in the D.C.C.C.D.
  Which database do you think will be the most valuable to you in your college years? Which might you continue to use after your college years? Aha!

Activity 3.2 Use thelibrarycatalog.com to find everything the libraries own, many of the items available online.
Look at this page which highlights the major parts of the results screen. If you haven't watched the video tour of databases at Activity 3.1, do so now. The Library Catalog is included there. 
 Find something available at your campus about baseball that is NOT a book (physical or e-book). Aha!

Activity 3.3 Use the Choose a Database page to identify the best finding tool for the kind of articles you need.
View this 3 minute video which help you avoid the mistakes many people make in using this page.
 Find a database available in the DCCCD that covers the field of robotics. Aha!

Class Experience Set 4: Shifting into High Gear

Click on the Activity No. (e.g., Activity 4:1) for tips. After completing the activity, you may want to click on the Aha! link  for an answer to the question.

    • Activity 4.1  Learn to evaluate information in books, articles and Web sites.
       
      Read through the IRIS Evaluating Information tutorials (3 modules: Introduction, Books and Articles, and Web sites). Note that the video on screen 5 of the Books and Articles section recommends ProQuest for researching book reviews. For DCCCD users a better choice is either Book Review Digest or one of the Ebscohost databases like Academic Search Complete. 

      As you go through this material, realize that these are processes you learn so you can apply them when the situation requires it. If you never learn them, you won't know how when the chips are down. And the more you use them the easier they'll become. So here's your question: Do you believe this Web site documenting the first male pregnancy in history: http://www.malepregnancy.com? Which of the techniques for evaluating Web pages would help you uncover the truth?                                                                   Aha!

  • Activity 4.2  OR for another approach to evaluating do this.
      Read through Evaluating  module of  InfoLab  Note that this tutorial is the recently completed DCCCD research tutorial for all instructors and students. The examples, graphics, and techniques all point to the way the DCCCD libraries and databases work. For this reason going through the entire tutorial would benefit anyone who wants to sharpen his understanding of research methods and tools. 

    As you go through this material, realize that these are processes you learn so you can apply them when the situation requires it. If you never learn them, you won't know how when the chips are down. And the more you use them the easier they'll become. So here's your question: Do you believe this Web site documenting the first male pregnancy in history: http://www.malepregnancy.com? Would the CRAAP test for evaluating Web pages would help you uncover the truth?  If not, what would?                                                                Aha! 

Critical Thinking

I've been watching the student responses for the Activity 1:1 for over a year now. I can't think of a single student who has used facts about the Foundation for Critical Thinking  to support their argument that this is a reliable source. Consider doing that. It's what good researchers (and good writers) do. They base their arguments on facts. Gary Duke 9/17/2011

Aha!

If you're not clicking on the Aha! boxes, you should do so. The one for Google Books (Activity 2.4) leads you to a really interesting article about Wikipedia in The Encyclopedia Britannica. If you're going to argue for or against Wikipedia you should arm yourself with facts. And that's what encyclopedias are good for. 

InfoLab

InfoLab is a NEW and valuable resource. In about an hour you can be guided through the research process used and recommended by DCCCD librarians. Do it today! and if not today as soon as you can. It will save you a ton of time and pave the way for really excellent research projects. 

© 2018 Dallas County Community College District.

Report an Online Accessibility Issue